IMPORTANT NOTICE: The Ads on this site are GUARANTEED VIRUS FREE, your computer will not get a Virus from our ads.

Author Topic: Bouncing Alt/ Volt Gauges  (Read 2080 times)

KurtfromLaQuinta

• View Profile
Bouncing Alt/ Volt Gauges
« on: September 25, 2014, 02:12:29 PM »
I'm kinda baffled on this situation and have been stymied by this issue.
I've come to you for parts for a last few years now. My most recent order was a couple of your high amp stator kits for the "old school" Chrysler alternator.
I've owned my truck now for almost 41 years. In fact, I ordered it from Dodge back in August '73. On an recent off road excursion outside of 29 Palms, California, a few months back, my ignition just failed on me. I did all the usual diagnostics, including testing the MSD box as per their handbook. And the test pointed to their box. I've been running that same MSD 6A for over 19 years without issues. So I figured "it lived a good life", and ordered a new one and threw the old one away. I installed the new one... nothing. I don't normally throw parts at a problem. Usually.
Upon further digging, my coil tested bad. Replaced it... instant start up. That coil had been on there for at least 200,000 miles, so no big deal. And thinking back, I had a ignition failure months prior to this event. And replaced the pick up coil and things worked well until I was stranded in 29 Palms. In years past... it always was the pick up coil.